Skip to content
May 27, 2012 / Stephanie Vermillion

Ah, Dublin. It’s been far too long.

This past weekend I went back to Dublin to meet up with my family (they’re spending a few weeks overseas to visit me), and it turned out to be an interesting, enlightening weekend. I studied there two summers ago through the University of Dayton, but as I returned to the city to meet my family this weekend, it was interesting, as I reminisced wandering through the streets with my Dublin crew, and enlightening, because I had a fresh (possibly more mature?) look at all the sights I visited in 2010.

My unforgettable summer in Ireland, summer 2010.

We packed a lot into those weeks studying in Dublin, ranging from torrential downpours stranded on a sandbar to a mistaken trip to the “Wicklow Mountains” … but somehow yesterday walking through Dublin’s cobble stone streets I had more of an idea where we were, how to get around (kind of), and – for you, Dr. Donnelly – what the River Liffey is. So what changed? Well, with only 24 hours in Dublin this weekend I realized there was no time to get lost. And it helped that my map-genius brother was leading the way.

If you want to read about my Dublin adventures from study abroad, here’s my  summer ’10 blog highlighting that trip. But for now, here’s a look at some of my Dublin memories, from both yesterday for my family’s first time in Ireland, and two years ago, during one of the best summers of my life. Needless to say we visited many of the same spots I did in 2010, as churches, Irish music and natural beauty never go out of style.

Leave a Reply

