Skip to content
June 7, 2012 / Stephanie Vermillion

Scones, stadiums and some time with Big Ben

Today is my first mish-mash post (no, not mushy peas post, Dad — sorry) of several blog-worthy experiences from this past week that got lost in the jumble of compiling Diamond Jubilee footage and living a Beatles fan’s dream.

So first, let’s talk tea. To celebrate my mom’s birthday, my family and I had an England afternoon high tea, including, but not limited to, sandwiches, scones, brownies, cakes and many other delicious carbohydrates. And the English tea time offers more than a chocolate fix (trust me, I was in need). By partaking in tea time I realize why it’s such an important tradition: nothing beats some quality time with the ones you love over tea and treats.

Tea time at Bea's of Bloomsbury, Chelsea

Tea time at Bea’s of Bloomsbury, Chelsea

On a completely opposite (hence the mish-mash) note, I’ve quickly become a Steven Gerrard fan. Maybe it’s because he’s easy on the eyes, maybe because he’s (according to my dad) one of the best, if not the best, players in England (a football icon), or maybe it’s because he wears the same number 8 as my all-time-favorite UD baseball player.

But for whichever reason (obviously the latter, Jimmy!), after visiting the Liverpool FC stadium, Anfield, I decided he’s definitely one to root on, especially with London 2012 coming up and no USA Men’s team. And an awesome Liverpool stadium tour through the press room, locker rooms and stadium sealed the deal on not only my Gerrard support, but it’s also made me ready to embrace Liverpool football and become a fan when the next season begins.

Anfield: Liverpool FC stadium, England

And speaking of important England icons, my last portion of mushy peas — I mean mish-mash — is my Big Ben sighting, finally! I had a peek at Big Ben on his birthday last week, but had yet to get up close and personal to the tower until today on a long run (it was a “training tours” day, if you have been accidentally not following my blog, here’s a TT recap).

Big Ben, London, England

I not only heard Big Ben himself ring at 11:15, but I also got some pretty decent Ben photos from my iPhone, which has been my musical, radio and photography buddy on all my sightseeing runs.

Hope this post wasn’t too all over the place for you, from fancy teas to football, with some beautiful bells to top it off. And if you take away nothing else from this post, I hope it’s this: mushy peas are nearly as important to the English food scene as tea time scones, and many think they’re a true English delicacy. Just ask my dad, he’s bringing cans home with him.

Leave a Reply

