Skip to content
June 24, 2012 / Stephanie Vermillion

Fashion and fun at the 2012 Royal Ascot

To continue our summer celebrating all things royal, our grad school group went to the Royal Ascot races yesterday, fully embracing the fancy hat and formalwear dress code. Hats have been more or less the main topic of conversation for us since May, be it difficulty finding one, excitement after having found one, or simply analyzing which hat styles could best help us resemble Kate Middleton.

Royal Ascot 2012, England

And finally being able to wear our hats, get dolled up in our Ascot finest and cheer on horses (the Queen’s, of course!) I realized yesterday was more fun than I had even imagined, and has me dead set on going to the Kentucky Derby next May. But I do have a feeling that no matter how many derbies I attend in the future, nothing will compare to cheering on the Queen’s winning horse, Estimate, or filming the Australian mare Black Caviar’s 22nd consecutive win in the Diamond Jubilee stakes.

While the horse racing was a fun and new experience for me, I think I had even more fun sitting and enjoying/critiquing the Royal Ascot fashions with Amy, Brett and Colleen. The fashions definitely lived up to the hype, including dazzling designer dresses, shoes to die for, and, of course, more fabulous hats than I’ve ever seen in one place. Here’s a quick recap of the Ascot trends, ranging from fierce fashions to … not so fierce. (I’ve been browsing through these all afternoon, and this is probably my favorite).

Boston University group before Royal Ascot 2012, EnglandAfter watching the day’s full range of fashions, I’d definitely say our group did a flawless job showing the sophisticated, fashionable side of Boston University. While we may not have the income to sport some of Ascot’s fanciest hats (grad student problems), we sure know how to work with what we have to fit right into the race-day festivities. And, in my case, I have the wonderful Kensington Top Shop to thank for that.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. quinn / Jul 10 2012 6:54 pm

    peplum AND a fascinator…can i borrow this outfit for next year’s derby? love this.

Leave a Reply

