Skip to content
June 28, 2012 / Stephanie Vermillion

Let the Ireland adventures begin

With the first half of our summer semester completed, BU has been generous enough to let us unwind with a week-long break. The timing coincides perfectly with the Volvo Ocean Race (a yacht race around the world held every three years) grand finale being held in Galway from June 30-July 8. Even more perfect is the fact that one of my friends from UD also lives in Galway and, being the best hostess/friend ever, invited me over to enjoy the week.

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland, from my summer studying in Dublin 2010

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland, from my summer studying in Dublin 2010

To make sure I make the most of my voyage to Ireland, I planned a little side trip before Galway as well, to see a portion of the Emerald Isle I’ve been dying to get to: Killarney and the Ring of Kerry. So here’s a run down of my itinerary for the next week and a half: Pretty jam-packed, but it’s Ireland — and I don’t want to miss a minute of it!

  • Friday, June 29: Fly into Kerry (11 a.m.), go horseback riding in Killarney National Park, and check into my B&B, The Countess House
  • Saturday, June 30: Climb Carrauntoohil, the highest mountain in Ireland*
  • Sunday, July 1: Bike portion of the Ring of Kerry (with a detailed, easy-to-read map, of course)
  • Monday, July 2: Say goodbye to Killarney and head off to Galway
  • Tuesday, July 3: A few other UD friends arrive in Galway, go to Volvo Ocean Race Grand Finale Sailor Arrivals party
  • Wednesday, July 4: Celebrate the 4th of July!
  • Thursday, July 5: Cliffs of Moher boat cruise
  • Friday, July 6: Enjoy beginning of weekend Grand Finale festivities
  • Saturday, July 7: Fly back into Gatwick from Shannon Airport (5:35 p.m.)
  • Sunday, July 8: Relax, regroup and prepare for first day of my internship with Bell Pottinger Group on Monday!

I’ll try to blog as much as I can to keep you updated on the beautiful and unbeatable Ireland, but as I found out in Chepstow, B&B wifi is subpar at best. So in the mean time, here’s a quick (and heartwarming) clip about climbing Carrauntoohil:

Leave a Reply

