Skip to content
July 5, 2012 / Stephanie Vermillion

Cliffs of Moher from the Atlantic

The Cliffs of Moher are an obvious, must-do activity for any Galway goer. I saw them during my summer studying in Dublin, but knew that I’d regret not going back this time around as well. And to spice things up and travel off the beaten path (literally, our Bus Eireann “path” here was bumpy, winding and off road enough to make us all sick), we saw the cliffs at a different vantage point than most tourists: from the Atlantic Ocean.

I remember last time being on top of the cliffs I so badly wanted to be on the boats down below, that got up close and personal to two of my favorite things: natural beauty (the cliffs) and puffins (the best birds ever). And for someone who loves photography, viewing the cliffs with an ocean in the foreground is a dream come true.

What made the dream come true even better was finding out that part of Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince was filmed in this very cave. In London I take every opportunity I can to connect my life with “the boy who lived” (yes, I’m that cool), but I forgot that carried over into Ireland, too. Here’s a look at the movie’s cliffs scene (fortunately our weather was a little sunnier):

With a full day immersed in Mother Nature’s finest, and some incredible/intense adventures in Killarney, I’d say my Ireland adventures are more than complete. But I’m never satisfied with just complete: therefore I’ll be heading out to Connemara tomorrow to see some wild ponies, ancient castles and of course, those famous hills of Connemara (and I’ll be singing that tune the whole way there)!

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland

Cliffs of Moher, Ireland

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. ireyroad / Jul 6 2012 7:46 pm

    Love the photos, looking forward to hearing about your adventures to Connemara now tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

